Follow up 9/19: I submitted this claim to BBB trying to get at least a partial refund and this hotel responded with a hand written letter that sounded like an upset teenager. They claimed they had contacted my about cancelling my reservation but I stayed anyway due to the 24 hour cancellation policy. I never even tried to cancel, I only tried to make sure a late check in was okay and they never got back to me. They also claimed I lied about the cleanliness and they talked to me the next morning while I was getting coffee and everything was now okay. None of that is true. We checked out early, dropped the key in the drop box and never saw a soul. I also don't drink coffee. I now see why the hotel was 3/4 empty. Great location, too bad the owners don't know how to run a successful business. I will never be back here and I would highly recommend staying away as well. Before posting a public review, I was going to try contacting the hotel to resolve the issue privately, but when I emailed them asking for a late check-in, they never responded. While the location of the hotel is great, the cleanliness is deplorable. I unfolded a towel in the bathroom and was met with a clump of hair and a stain. I was willing to overlook that until I folded back the sheet on my bed and was met with at least half a dozen spots on the underside of the sheet. Absolutely disgusting. My bed didn't even have a fitted sheet so I guess they ran out of those? We stopped looking for issues at that point so we could at least try to sleep out of ignorance of how dirty the room truly was. We will never stay here again. I can't imagine how this is rated as even a 2 star hotel, it must not have been reviewed in awhile. I have low expectations for hotels when it comes to cleanliness and this one somehow managed to limbo under that low bar.
I would recommend staying anywhere else but here. Property is in quite disrepair, dirty grounds and landscaping not kept up. We stayed in August 2023 the pool was closed and dirty and scummy The lobby was dirty and smelled like pee in the entrance Coffee pot in the room, but no coffee or supplies The restaurant is closed and we were told it’s because they can’t get a chef Very depressing and gloomy to stay here. It’s sad because there would be so much potential if the resort had the funds to invest in it I would like to add, that the lady working at the desk was very kind and friendly Clearly, it’s not her responsibility that the ownership is not able to keep the property up. She is doing her best to take care of the guests that do come.
Like people have said. This place needs some investment in staff and maintenance. Based on the price it was very disappointing. Pool is green and landscape is not maintained. Our room was fine but there was no maid service done. I will not return. Hopefully they will turn it around soon. There was lots of parking. If price was better it would be fine as a better than average budget motel.
No air conditioning but the windows open and have screens, plus there's a ceiling fan. Decent size room with small table, 2 chairs, 1-cup coffee maker, small refrigerator and microwave. Clean. Very helpful desk clerk. Plenty of parking for big vehicles or RVs. Short walk down to the bay. In the morning they make a pot of coffee in the lobby and have small muffins. I thought it was overpriced but after all, it was the coast on a weekend.
The location is great, and the property has real potential if the owner is willing to invest time and money. The rooms need deep cleaning, including windows, the linens need replacing. Our ‘fridge had one temp - FREEZE, microwave was dirty. The property is huge - the owners would be advised to shut most of the rooms and get them up to par while keeping enough rooms open to keep a cash flow. The restaurant is closed - either close it permanently or lease it out to someone. The pool and hot tub are unusable due to slime, mold & algae - clean them up or stop advertising them as part of the resort. Clean up & green up the outdoors area (which is huge) and furnish tables, chairs & benches. An outdoor play area for kids. Pet area. It is a terrible misnomer to call this a resort when there is no where to relax. The staff was great, but they can only do so much when the owners don’t care about their property. This place will be bankrupt if the owners don’t invest in it. So disappointed. I would rather stay home than stay at Alsi Resort. A total waste of my money.